Songs for Motorcycle Riding

When I tell folks I ride a motorbike they frequently respond that they would too, but don’t because on a longer trips they would miss listening to their radio, iPod, CDs, eight-tracks, etc..

As an impassioned convert to two-wheeling, and having a few miles under my butt, I always try to convince them that they do not need a radio or distractions while on a motorcycle. Between the wind, the noises of the road, the sound of the machine, and the inner-peace that comes from ‘cycling, additional outside stimuli is not needed and against the point. Without fail, when the lecture is over I get a solid sideways glance along with a responding tone that more than subtly lets me know they think I’m off my rocker.

Admittedly though, sometimes when I am in a  good mood old songs come into my head while cruising down the road. Good old favorites that just seem appropriate for a time alone.  Here’s ten regulars with links. Enjoy!

1. Everybody’s Talkin’ – Harry Nilsson

2. Long Way to the Top if you want to Rock n’ Roll – AC/DC

3. Wayfaring Stranger – Bill Monroe

4. Who the Hell was in my Room Last night – Butthole Surfers

5. Maybellene – Chuck Berry

6. Travelin’ Band – Creedence Clearwater Revival

7. Ride the Tiger – Jefferson Starship

8. Wooden Ships – Crosby, Stills and Nash

9. Lamb Lies Down on Broadway – Genesis

10. Theme from “Gappa” – Seitaro Omori

Leave a Reply

